Sign in to follow this  
Misantes

OpenGL OpenGl translating with quaternion based view/camera

Alright, first let me promise this will be the last thread on quaternions I will make tongue.png Also, I would usually post this in the beginners section, but it feels a little out of place there, so mods, please feel free to relocate this if it does indeed belong there. But, that said, I am rather new to OpenGL, so please keep that mind when responding (you're of course welcome to respond however you'd like, but I'm much less likely to understand it smile.png)

So, I'm able to successfully rotate the Camera around using quaternions. Where I'm running into difficulties is moving the Camera around the worldspace (or the worldspace around the camera). To clarify, so there is less confusion(I'm rather new and I'll certainly misuse opengl nomenclature in this post, but I'll try to be clear) when I say camera I mean a View matrix in a matrix:

glm::mat4 MVP = ProjectionMatrix * ViewMatrix * ModelMatrix;

The biggest issue I've had is that translating by the quaterion or quaternion-based matrix seems to not produce the results I'm going for, as often the axis I'm trying to move along will be represented by a zero in the quaternion and therefore translates by zero when multiplied by a vector (if my math is correct, which it may not be). I'm probably explaining this poorly, so to illustrate, imagine I'm "rolling" the view matrix by rotating along the Z axis. If I try translating by glm::vec3(0,0,10) everything will seemingly work and I'll move forward in the world(or the world backward, whichever). However, any time the quaternion is not rotating along the Z axis(say, I'm rotating the camera to the left, along the X axis), if I try translating by the same glm::vec3(0,0,10), it will of course not move forward (I'm assuming again, that it's because it's now multiplying the vector.z by zero).