How do you make and manage an indie development team?

Started by
20 comments, last by Edugamic 9 years, 9 months ago

Hi, I am currently a junior in high school and I wanted to make a game design club for senior year. I have about 3 or 4 years of experience making small games such as a small platformer on GameMaker, a top down shooter in java, and I am currently working on a snake like game in Unity. The club is meant to create a team of either programmers and artist to make games throughout the year. The only problem is that I do not know how to manage a team. As stated before, my game experiences have mostly been myself doing the programming and art with an occasional friend to help out.

What I need to know:

1. How can I distribute the work?
  2. How do I know who to choose join?
  3. How can I make sure people are on task?
  4. How can I make sure people are communicating?
  5. How do you manage resources between different people?

Also any ideas on what to use? I was thinking of using Unity, but because I don't feel like the most experienced with it I'm not sure how comfortable I would feel running a team under it.

Situation:

1. Will be working on Macs and PCs
  2. Needs to be some what beginner friendly

Any help or tips on this would be great! Thanks!

Here's an update on what I plan to do with the club:

After reading all of the posts the major problem that I'm going to face is motivating the people to work under me. So what I've decided to do is outline my plan and what the first meeting is going to be like to hopefully give a better idea of what I am trying to achieve.

My main goal is to create a team of kids from my high school to make games. If things go smoothly, this team would eventually be transferred outside of school or at least make new friends along the way that share my passion of making games.