Sign in to follow this  

GOTO, why are you adverse to using it

This topic is 1186 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am an old school programmer, did many stints in assembly (6502,6510,68000,68030,486,586), basic, fortran, pascal, extended languages, c++, c# etc... I use goto on a regular basis to exit out of routines, skipping many lines of code and only incurring a single cache hit. In over 30+ years I know when the proper use of the command is needed, it's no worse than BREAK or CONTINUE for a loop, actually less in fact. What is your aversion to using that command, is it your workplace or your training? I can skip a thousand lines of code with a single command and a single cache hit. Do you have to jump through hoops to get out of a routine? With my experience I know when to use it and not to use it. I want to hear from the professionals why it's such a bad command to use. My typical use is goto ex; which is jump to the exit routine, everything is done, clean up and get out. I'm not a pro by any means (mid-south US, no programming jobs here), just wondering about all the hate on goto is about, it's a very useful command...

I have no aversion. The way I write code means a goto is never necessary. I've never ran into a problem and thought to myself that a goto would be cleanest solution in C#, Javascript or C++. Maybe it's useful outside of those languages. I remember seeing it used in C and that's it. I use lambdas a lot and lambda callbacks rather than returns. It's very flexible especially with asynchronous stuff.

Edited by Sirisian

This argument just came up on the ISOCPP mailing lists a few weeks ago, actually. The specifics were arguments for multi-level break but comparisons to goto came up of course.