Sign in to follow this  

Bad values from DLL functions

This topic is 1174 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have a HUGE problem with some code I'm writing, and I was wondering if anyone could advise me.  BTW, I'm not at all a beginner to programming, but I'm a beginner to the specific APIs I'm using, and using DLLs in general, so please keep that in mind when you reply.

I'm using C# (VS2012 Express) in Windows 7 with XP compatibility, and I'm trying to use the Razer Hydra API (although the problem may not be specifically about this, but DLL usage in general, and I think that very well may be the case).

I've already sent this problem to Razer and after going back and forth with them, answering all their questions, they never actually gave me any suggestions and finally just told me to contact Sixense (the company that made the API) directly, which I did, and I haven't gotten a response for over 3 weeks.  So needless to say, I'm quite frustrated and if anyone could help me I would REALLY appreciate it!  Thanks.

So here's the problem:

I'm using the DLL, and I tried using it in a C++ project (in .NET), and it works fine, gives me good results, etc.  However, it would be much more convenient for me to use it in C#, so as to be compatible with other code I have written.  So I put it into C# using the Interop Services thing (I may not remember all the terminology and don't have the code with me at this computer so please humor me).

So anyway, it compiles, runs, and calls the functions correctly without causing exceptions.  However, I don't get the data back that I expect to get returned.  I'm using the functions in the same way and order that I use them in my C++ code, but in C# I get different results for some return values.