Sign in to follow this  
Checkmate_001

Where do I go beyond Graphics Programming?

Hello,

I have been programming for a few years now and started trying to make my first 3D game about a year ago. (and yes I have done 2D games before)

I started off with Direct3D and C++ using "Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 11" as it was recommended to me as "the bible". This book is - I must say - THE best resource I have found for 3D mathematics, even having baffled my teacher when I brought up some of the topics. I worked my way through the book getting pretty far into it (up to Chapter 16), but I started to realize that the book was only teaching me how to make very nice graphics and not a game.

With more research I looked into the book "Game Coding Complete, 4th Edition", which I find to be a very misleading title. I, however, did not get very far in this book but I did quickly realize it was very specific and not what I was looking for.

And so I have made my next attempt at Game programming with OpenGL and possibly Java (JOGL). I have bought "Beginning OpenGL Game Programming", with plans to look at NeHe resources after reading the book, and have been consolidating my C++ and Java knowledge. The question I beg of you to answer is am I going down the right path? And is there a resource In have looked over/ am missing?

I have also looked at this site, however old this particular article may be: http://www.gamefromscratch.com/post/2011/08/04/I-want-to-be-a-game-developer.aspx.

Thanks in Advanced,

P.S: If you have any questions you need to give a better answer, please do ask I would be extremely grateful.

You start by saying that you are working on a game, yet the rest of your post is about engine development.

I suggest you start by reading the "Write Games, Not Engines" post (old, but still very relevant).