• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Infinisearch

What keeps players...

This topic is 1370 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

What keeps players coming back to an MMOG.  I have never played an MMOG but recently was thinking of dabbling in some hobby design of one.  But seeing as I have no experience with them I figure I'd ask here what makes players come back for more in an MMOG, is it the social interaction, coop quests, exploration, dicovery...?  My imagination is leading me towards an MMORPG so if you have specific opinions with regards to them please share, if you have an opinion on other MMOG's again please share.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Advertisement

I'm baffled by why you would try to design a game in a genre you don't play

To be perfectly honest so was I, but it seems to be an itch I have to scratch.

Different players are interested in different things:
Hearts, Clubs, Diamonds, Spades: Players who Suit MUDs

Thanks for that, I took a brief look... I'll read it later.  What should I search for to find the 8 role breakdown?

Edited by Infinisearch

I'm baffled by why you would try to design a game in a genre you don't play
I agree, it's a suicide. Especially with MMOs which are very specific and do require from the administrator (not developer since developing such game is easy, the hard part comes later) specific knowledge and experience.

Do yourself a favour and don't do it :)