Sign in to follow this  
Dalphin

forget c++

Hello community,

I'm learning c++ for some months now, in order to make games in the future.

I bought a book about the c++ basics a while ago and i'v just passes the half.

Now yesterday someone asked me to join his game develop team.

They are making a game in unity, using c#. They say i can join as programmer.

I sound so cool for me, but i am afraid of one thing: Forgetting c++.

I am afraid of this, because i'm only a beginner, who just learned about classes, so i haven't really much

experience writing code and because c# is more like java (i think), i will maybe forget lots of the c++ parts and syntax

and have to start again with the book. I completely don't want to do that, because i've spend so much time on it.

Now my question is: Do you think this might happen (an additional one is: is c# so different from c++ in concepts and syntax).

Thanks

Now yesterday someone asked me to join his game develop team.

They are making a game in unity, using c#. They say i can join as programmer.

Hi there, I don't want to sound prejudiced or anything, but how old are you, and, how old are the members of this 'game develop team'?

Anyway, I recommend staying with C++, if you started the book, finish it. For sure, through the learning process you will gain knowledge and experience that will benefit in the future, while this 'game develop team' may not even finish this game at all.

yesterday someone asked me to join his game develop team. They are making a game in unity, using c#. They say i can join as programmer ... i haven't really much experience writing code and because c# is more like java (i think), i will maybe forget lots of the c++ parts and syntax

Thoughts:

1. It's not clear why you have to stop learning C++. Can you clarify?