Online Board Game Framework

Started by
3 comments, last by l0calh05t 9 years, 5 months ago

Hey Guys!

I'm currently a computer science student and my 3rd Project involves developing a online chess game. My goal is to learn a lot more than I currently know about distributed systems and produce the best design possible for the infrastructure of the game. For this I thought I could create my own client-server framework where I could address all the communication, synchronization , security and performance problems and then build the game on top of it.

I wanted to know opinions from people who have tried on whether this is being too ambitious or even the best way of approaching the problem. I really wanted to get a deeper knowledge about DS and maybe get to make a framework that other people can come to use.

If anyone can give me a hand with this it would be awesome as my supervisor doesn't seem to want to meet me until marking time !

Cheers !

Advertisement
I think this is a fine goal.

I don't know of a good online board game framework, but there are various open source online chess programs, and other online games (such as MUDs and whatnot) that you can study.
enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };

I agree with hplus, I think is a doable project, also it seems interesting and fun to me, so go on! (can I suggest you to create a developer journal in this website so we can follow your progress, if you eventually start that project?)