Sign in to follow this  
jtrier1

Can I design & develop a game with a sub $500k budget?

Okay, I have this game idea in my head. I want to create a visually-appealing 2D side-scolling action platformer using UDK, Maya, After Effects, Photoshop, Gimp, and Blender. The game will have 52 levels spread out over 7 maps and will take the player roughly 14 hours to complete. I don't know programming or design, and will have to pay production people, sound people, designers, programmers, and animators to develop the game.

I know this probably isn't enough information, but I am new at this and I'm still learning all about game design/development.

Can I pull all of this off for $500,000 or less?

Since you're asking about cost and not design, I'm moving this to Business. (It could arguably also belong in Production/Management, but since you're going to go into business to make games...)

2D side-scolling action platformer using UDK

It is possible to make a 2D side-scroller for PC for under $500,000. But you'll need experienced people, and an experienced producer (not a first-timer). The question back to you is, what's your plan for making the money back from the finished game?

Sorry...Thanks for moving it. As for making the money back, I'll need a marketing strategy so I can sell it.

As for making the money back, I'll need a marketing strategy so I can sell it.

You should figure that bit out before you start spending half a million dollars!

oh yeah I know...It'll be a while before I start anything, so I have time.

If you're planning on hiring professionals, you should expect to pay about $10,000 per man-month. About five years ago, the typical cost for a small-scale Xbox Live game was about half a million. A small-scale Xbox Live game is commensurate with a 2D side-scroller, I'd say.