• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Interactive Tech Demos Turned Games

This topic is 1328 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So recently I began looking back on my past games that I have finished. Most of them being either very simple 3D wireframe games or 2D shooters. They don't look, feel, or really even play impressively at all. They seem very standard. However, to me, they are my pride an joy.

I am a programmer who is more obsessed with using the least RAM and the least processing power to get something accomplished. As a systems programmer or a backend guy, that's perfectly fine. But as a one man game development team, that leads to some interesting issues.

As of late, I have gotten ideas for some good games that I really want to make, however, I have a problem with getting past the "tech demo" phase and into the actual game phase. I spend more time developing memory saving algorithms or finding ways to cut down on processing and less time on developing a game. In the early stages of game development, this may not seem like a problem, however, I have been encountering this problem subconsciously for over 5 years now!

I have been programming for the better part of 9 years, and have over 5 years in game development, but still struggle to get a basic 3D game to come together using modern technology.

I have no problems banging out a flight simulator for a watch built out of 8 bit AVR chips. I have no problems rattling off entity code for 10,000+ enemies on screen at once. I DO have a problem with putting these things to use within a game. 

Not sure if I'm making any sense at all, but if you have any advice for how I can become a better game developer and less of a backend memory-fixer, please let me know. 

Advertisement