• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Cydriic

Is there a way for me to see my game`s performance or frame rate?

This topic is 1511 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Everyone,

I ran into a performance issue last time when I had to work on my game from my laptop (which is a little bit less powerful then my desktop computer). I immediately noticed that my game was slower then on the other computer.

I got me to work on my collision system to make it a uniform grid collision system instead of going through all my vectors constantly like a total noob.

But now that this has been implemented, it got me interested in knowing about my frame rate better.

Is there a way to actually know about my frame rate? Is there an application that I can run at the same time as my game and tell me at what frame rate i`m running?

Thanks!

Advertisement

In any serious project, I build a performance measurement system into the game. I categorize sections of the draw and update loops and can pop up a display in game that shows how long each section took, or any spikes that took place recently.

From there, I can get a better idea of what to look at: if I need to use a CPU profiler to get more info about a section of game code, or if I should use a GPU profiler (e.g. Intel GPA) to see what's up.