• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Brainx7

How do you retrieve form values from a database according to session ID

This topic is 1429 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So basically, I have a form that when the user finishes it, and clicks submit the information is stored in the database, so I'm trying to make it so , when they open the form, the information retrieved is their corresponding information and not the one from the last person who filled the form and stored in the database. A friend of mine try to explain to me that all I have to do is something like, assign the session id to the user filling the form and store that in the database and then retrieve based on that id? im not sure if that's right, im very new to this topic so I apologize if I sound retarded, ive made some research about it but I don't clearly understand the process of how to do this, if someone could help me id really appreciate it.

Advertisement
When a user connects, check if they have a `session` cookie. If not, generate a new one. Set that cookie for the user. If the did already have a session, use that ID to load up their information from the DB. When information is saved to the DB, use the session ID to identify it.

Note that there are many, many gotchas here. There are many considerations to make for security purposes. You need to ensure the connection is encrypted before transmitting a cookie so it can't be snooped. You have to be careful with how hard-to-guess the cookies are for attackers. You have to watch out for XSS attacks, CSRF attacks, and so on. The security of any personal information like medical information, SSNs, CC info, etc. should never be remembered or retransmitted back to the user; they shouldn't even be stored in the DB (or anywhere else; use them for validation if you must then throw them away).