Where do I start

Started by
1 comment, last by Pashbee 9 years, 5 months ago

Hi Im new to this site and a complete beginner and I want to be a game designer but I dont where to start unsure.png. Im in high school right, Im thinking about doing it as a job one day. So please can you give my any usefull tips or advice on how to be a game designer.

Advertisement

I recommend you start with this FAQ from the job advice forum of the site. Lots of links to lots of reading.

Hi there, welcome!

Where do I start?

This question get's asked a lot on this board. You must read the FAQ here.

Decide what you find fun in game development early on. Is it the technical side, the programming and prototyping? Is it art direction or audio direction? Or something else entirely? Id actually strongly recommend trying a bit of everything to begin with. Then you might discover what you really enjoy doing with game development. Check out different programming languages, technologies/engines and give it a go. Obviously, fitting your future education around this now, is a very good idea.

Learn, learn, learn and learn some more. Prototype games and ideas. You should have a repository full of prototypes one day. If you then believe in an idea enough, you may take it further, which is fantastic. Never be afraid to prototype ideas with cover art or even just rectangles and circles. For example, I created a Terraria style world block system in love2d here. It looks terrible right, but gave me an idea of how to build it and how I might use this idea in the future.

What else do I do to get started?