Current state of custom and commercial game engines as of 2014

Started by
12 comments, last by nekitusan 9 years, 4 months ago

As a game engine developer myself, I was wondering about the need of custom game engines, the state of commercial engine offers and also about game engine engineer job offers scarcity.

We can all observe how the game engine market has changed since Unity started to occupy a major part of it and also after UE4 was released to the public, that started the "war" for the user, for affordable game engine technology.

I'm seeing the current distinct parts of the game engine market or area of game software technology:

1. hobby custom game engines, very few probably aimed at 3D anymore, a several 2D oriented ones usually written for specific indie games;
  2. custom proprietary game engines, used in-house by some game studios such as DICE's FrostBite, Kojima's FoxEngine, SquareEnix's Luminous, and others;
  3. hobbyist game engines from the last generation, or the pre-unity, pre-UE4, with ok features but not really AAA grade, and we have here (in no particular order biggrin.png) Leadwerks, NeoAxis, Torque, C4, Shiva3D, Esenthel, Gamestart, Gamecore, etc., some better than others. Some might get upgraded in the future, but not a certainty;
  4. top hobbyist game engines, here we have the well known players Unity3D and UnrealEngine4, plus some more obscure or not so much used ones like Unigine, CryEngine, and others I don't remember;
  5. open source game engines, there are some notable ones like Panda3D, Delta3D, Polycode, OGRE(rendering), Blender GameEngine, and others;

So, one of my questions is, is it worth still to make a custom game engine for yourself or even to think about making it open source or commercial ?