Started by
10 comments, last by BearishSun 6 years, 10 months ago

EDIT:

LATEST UPDATE: scroll down or click here

v0.3 update: scroll down or click here

v0.2 update: scroll down or click here

ORIGINAL POST:

Hi guys,

I wanted to bring your attention to Banshee Engine. It's something I have been working on for the last three years in order to figure out ins and outs of engine development, and I'm really proud of how it has turned out so far. The idea was to build a powerful multiplatform 3D game development toolkit from scratch using modern technologies and modern design principles.

It’s still a work in progress and its feature set is far from complete but the goal to is provide a fully featured toolkit, from a low level C++ engine library, high quality renderer, integration with third party libraries for physics, audio, networking to an asset pipeline, scripting and extensible WYSIWYG editor. There doesn’t seem to be a similar fully featured toolkit in the open source community – there are some really good libraries for specific purposes but no well rounded toolkit. And many open source engines that provide a wider set of functionality have been around for ages and their codebase is far from modern.

Obviously I’m biased when saying this but I believe it is designed extremely well. I didn’t have any time or management constraints and I could build it from scratch instead of on a code base that is a result of many years of iteration which seems to be the case with some more well established solutions. It’s written in C++11, has very modular design and decoupled code, built from ground up to be easy to port to other platforms (platform specific code is kept extremely encapsulated) and multi-threaded at the core.