Best language for mobile apps

Started by
7 comments, last by mmakrzem 9 years, 4 months ago

So it's almost been a year since i started learning programming for the purpose of being a game developer. I started with python and then learned how to use pygame, i've been messing with it but soon i'll be ready to move on to the next language. My goal is to start making games to put up somewhere for anyone to play and i decided to go with mobile apps, more specifically start with android. I've heard the language for android apps is Java and for iOS it's C#. Is this correct? If i learned Java and made an app, would i need to learn C# to develop the same app for iOS? Please guide me in the proper direction.

Advertisement

Afaik, with mono (commercial licence I think?) you can use C# on both Android and iOS.

You can use Java(ish) on Android, and with RoboVM you can use it on iOS too.

You also have Objective-C and Swift for iOS.

"I AM ZE EMPRAH OPENGL 3.3 THE CORE, I DEMAND FROM THEE ZE SHADERZ AND MATRIXEZ"

My journals: dustArtemis ECS framework and Making a Terrain Generator

I was waiting for other replies, but i guess not many people know or cared to anwers the question since theres over 100 views but 1 reply LOL. Thx TheChubu, i think i'll jump into the mobile app development field through Java. Then i'll branch out of course.

I was waiting for other replies, but i guess not many people know or cared to anwers the question since theres over 100 views but 1 reply LOL. Thx TheChubu, i think i'll jump into the mobile app development field through Java. Then i'll branch out of course.

I think the Chubu basically answered your question 150%... there are just not that many options for systems that expect a certain language natively... which would be objective-C for iOS and java for Android.