Sign in to follow this  

Weird stuff happening when stepping through a threaded code

This topic is 1103 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Update 1:-

Problem solved I was calling the Thread twice. I'm so stupid. happy.png

Update 2:- as it turns out my code is not thread safe. working to fix it and will post new code soon.

Hello all,

I have very little experience in Multi-threaded programming, but from what I understand is you can create a thread to solve a problem and when its done it spits out the answer for your problem.

So that's what I did. I have a thread that starts and never dies until the software exits. in this thread I try to solve pathfinding problems. I have a Job class and a result class. In my main class I have a list of both the job class and the result class. So basically what I do is, I add new jobs to the list and the UpdateThread takes these jobs and solve them. When its done solving them, it spits out the answer in the results list and then deletes the old job from the job list.

My problem is sometimes I get random null errors inside my Astar class which is very weird. However there is another weird problem which is better demonstrated in the video below.

So when I try to step into my update code which is the threaded code, I seem to step in it twice. meaning I have to press F11 twice to get to the next line. which is really strange. Can someone please explain why is this happening?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-iAuVNmehDw

and Here is the code:-

namespace Engine.AI.Pathfinding
{
    class AstarJob
    {
        internal Astar aStar;
        internal int JobNumber;

internal AstarJob(Node StartingNode, Node TargetNode, Map map, bool DisableDiagonalPathfinding, int JobNumber)
        {
            this.JobNumber = JobNumber;