Best First Project?

Started by
13 comments, last by Fredericvo 9 years, 2 months ago

I am thinking that maybe I should practice a bit but maybe not. I am not a pro so I seek advice from those who know what they are doing. Should I practice by working on a fanmade game (yeah I know this is a very sensitive style of game design the only legal ones I see thus far to be openly distributed is touhou which is not an issue for me I like the art style) or jump right into my own series with no experience possibly wrecking any potential for story and plot and making a bad game.

1. I do have help and this game is going to be an action rpg and he is helping me script game maker studio to make the RPG mechanics built in to it.

2. I have no intent to throw RMXP away when I do go for the main series I plan on making it on multiple genre so RMXP will be my 2D turn based and maker3D will be my 3D turn based.

This is all hard work and I do not expect it to be done over night.

Advertisement

If you need practice then I would suggest that you do neither of the above and just focus on practice rather than expecting to produce a completed game on your first try; start by following tutorials, working through example exercises, etc. Make small mini-games (that is, just the game-play, without menus, scoring, etc.) to test out your ideas and see how best you could implement specific features you want for your real project.

It's overwhelmingly likely that your first game -- probably your first several games -- will have problems and may not be your best work. That's normal, and is part of learning -- everyone makes crappy games while they're learning.