Sign in to follow this  
wavering

Best way to source and organise a massive Objects interaction

wavering    104

[Note: the Certificate for this site ie http://www.gamedev.net ran out yesterday - somebody might care to fix that!]

I am an experienced programmer using vb.net, c++, asm, asp etc but have never written a game, hence this entry in the beginners section. Actually, it is an AI application but in many ways resembles a game (not surprising if you think about it)

This represents the next stage of what is already a huge operational program (by my standards - 50,000 lines of code written by me)

This is what I want to do - my budget, if necessary, runs into hundreds of thousands of US dollars

1. Download all the ready made objects which are out there - maybe 10,000?

2. Download all the ready made environments (if there is such a thing)

3. Enable my users to create new objects and environments

4. Enable my users to manipulate these objects in these environments and allow them to interact

I need general advice on how to tackle this using vb.net

So:

A. The best source of objects and environments

B. The best language to use with vb.net to manipulate objects in 3D and enable them to interact

C. Any other comments eg database, whatever

Many thanks ....

Brian Sandberg    1839

You should probably make your questions more specific, and add some more context, for anyone to be able to give you useful answers.  There's plenty of helpful and knowledgeable people around, but you have to make it easier to help you.

You talk about an AI application, but I get the feeling when you then talk about ready made "objects", and "environments", you mean 3D models?  Do you want to mass-download every freely available 3D model on the internet? That doesn't really have anything to do with gaming, but is a straightforward/boring exercise in googling sites, tailoring webcrawlers, and possibly coding importers or doing shellouts to convert them into the same format.