Sign in to follow this  
Charybdizs

Standard structure of a large scale game

Charybdizs    115

I'm not technically a new programmer. I've designed various programs, and games of a small scale, 2D and 3D, on various platforms. I've begun developing a game now using the Monogame platform, and it's significantly bigger than any of my other projects I've ever undertaken. Built into the XNA (and therefore Monogame) framework is the idea of the Game Loop. You know.

Initialization of a game

-

Loading the game's content

-

Update all the algorithms behind the game

-

Draw all things necessary to the screen

-

Repeat Update and Draw indefinitely until the game exits.

This pattern works, and works very nicely indeed, but for a small game. What about big games? Games that have segments that are very different from each other? The code for navigating a menu is very different from the code for playing pinball, and the code for playing pinball is very different from the code for adventuring around a 3D field. And yet, many games contain all these types of activities, and more. How are different states of a game best handled? Especially when each different state may be very big in size, and require loading resources of its own when it begins? I can think of several ways to do this. One would be a switch.

Update()
{

switch(gamestate)
                {
                                case Menu:

// here update all things pertaining to the menu state

break;

case Pinball:

// here update all things pertaining to the pinball game state

break;

case Adventure:

// here update all the computation for a 3D world and player controlled avatar

break;

}

Draw()
{

switch(gamestate)
                {
                                case Menu:

// here draw all menu objects

break;

case Pinball:

// here here drew the pinball board, ball, scores, all that jazz

break;

case Adventure:

// here draw the 3d world and everything in it that is relevant

break;

}