When to use pointers or objects in 'Composition'?

Started by
6 comments, last by plainoldcj 9 years, 2 months ago

Before I start please know I am a beginner so I may be asking a silly question or getting terminology wrong.

I have a simple program which initializes a win32 window, and then initializes directX 11 in that window.

The directX initialization is held in a class Graphics

The win32 window is held in a class MainWindow. My program flow goes as follows:

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)
{
    MSG msg;
    window = new MainWindow;
    window->initialize(hwnd, hInstance, nCmdShow);

the MainWindow::initialize function does all of that registering a win32 class and creating the window. At the bottom of this function is where I want to initialize directX within the window. This is where I get confused. As far as I am aware there seems to be three ways to do this.

METHOD 1. Use inheritance.

class MainWindow : public Graphics
{
private:
    HWND hwnd;
    HINSTANCE hInstance;
    HRESULT hr;
    int nCmdShow;

public:
    MainWindow();
    ~MainWindow();
    void initialize(HWND hwnd, HINSTANCE hInstance, int nCmdShow);
    static LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc(HWND, UINT, WPARAM, LPARAM);
};

then after the ShowWindow(hwnd, nCmdShow); UpdateWindow(hwnd); of my MainWindow::initialize() function, I can write.

Graphics graphics;

graphics.initialize(hwnd, 640, 480, false);
    graphics.showBackbuffer();

METHOD 2. Composition with an object.

Removing the inheritance line : public Graphics, means I need to put a Graphics object in my MainWindow member variable section e.g.

class MainWindow
{
private:
    HWND hwnd;
    HINSTANCE hInstance;
    Graphics graphics; <------------- ADDED THIS
    HRESULT hr;
    int nCmdShow;

I can now leave the same code as before, but remove the Graphics graphics; object declaration since it has already been done.