• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
donvreug

Determining rotation angles expressed in a different rotation system

This topic is 1334 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm new to graphics rotations and am trying to solve the following problem. 

I have an initial rotation system defined by: The rotation (or the direction) is defined by 3 successive rotations around Z, then Y, then X, all defined positive counter-clockwise from East to North (+Z+Y+X). Angles are bounded by -180 and +180 deg.

And I'd like to determine the rotation angles in a second system defined by: The rotation (or the direction) is defined by 3 successive rotations around Z, then X, then Z again, the first one being defined positive clockwise from North to East (Azimuth), the second one counter-clockwise from East to North and the third one clockwise from East to North (A+X-Z). Angles are bounded by 0 and +360 deg. When this convention is used to define a plane, the last angle defines a reference direction. The two first angles are equivalent to (azimuth, dip).

I presume this may be accomplished by a change of basis but I am still trying to come to grips with how to do that.

So if I enter in the first system rotation angles of 90, 0, -20 how do I find these angles expressed in the second system?

I am using DirectX/Direct3D.

Thanks for your help.

Advertisement

Welcome to gamedev!

As it is with many reputable sites with active forums, posting questions related to homework is against site policy. If your question is not, in fact, a homework problem, you'll likely get much better responses to your question if you can describe the practical situation with regard to D3D11 graphics you're trying to program.

Thanks for the response.  This is not a homework question.  It's been quite a while since I was at school. smile.png