• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
SaltyDev

Confusion with insides of 2D games

This topic is 1210 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am new to gamedev!

I know C++ pretty well and decided to dedicate part of my life for indie game development.

I already learned some basics (like what is a game loop, how to write a text adventure etc).

As a next step I decided to learn how to use a development library (i chose SDL) to create a simple, let's say, space shooter game. When I say simple I really mean simple - simple physics, simple collisions etc. Not more than 1 player and 1 enemy just to learn some new features.

But here is where confusion comes in.
I am now reading about basic game engine features and met a new term - scene graph. I understand how it works speaking about code, but i don't understand it regarding to game itself. I tried to look into various sources and seems like scene graph is a sort of scene management.

1. Can you explain me what is the difference between scene graph and scene management? Does scene graph represent only entites that can be drawn or it includes everything about entity (for example sound)?

2. What are scene graph alternatives?

3. How OOP is implemented in SDL? Or do I have to manually create classes like SceneGraph/SceneNode using SDL functions?

4. What are the best books/tutorials for reading when you know enough to write complex text adventures but totally new to 2d game creation?

Sources that I read now either using terminology that I do not understand or have target audience of experienced game developers.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by SaltyDev

Advertisement

3. How OOP is implemented in SDL? Or do I have to manually create classes like SceneGraph/SceneNode using SDL functions?