• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
JeremiasRama

My plans and where I started

This topic is 1261 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm a high school student. I'm starting to like creating game first on Warcraft 3 Plaftrom, Starcraft 2 and want to move to higher ground so I can make game myself. I learned about unity, unreal engine and cry engine and between those 3 I like cry engine best, but find UnrealEngine most suitable for me. I mastered VB6 programming language and still learn using C# and C++

1. What's the computer system requirements that required to make an excelent graphic realistic game using UnrealEngine, how much does it cost?
  2. What's best programming language used in game development? Is it C# or C++, which one is harder and easier to understand or it's just the same?
  3. Aside from budget for computer, what else must I spend my money for game development?
  4. Instead of creating engine and using one that already existed, is it wise and can raise revenue if I sell it? Should I learn to create my own engine or is it wiser to use someone else's engine?

Sincirely,

Jerry

Advertisement
Here's my input;

- language: c++ is the way if you're going deeper then "top" level
(most aaa titles use c++ code underneath the hood)?
Note: depending on the engine you choose, you might start with c#, also here it depends on where you want to be in a few years
- On the hardware side there are a few approaches, lower specs/ minimum required hardware for the used engine will challenge you more on optimizing, higher specs will give you ability to do more related stuff on the same machine (modelling, textures, audio etc). It all depends on what you want to do.

For sure, go for at least something dual core, a SSD for booting/ applications and a separated (not integrated) graphics card/GPU.