• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Unity 5 or Unreal engine 4

This topic is 931 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am a indie game developer and i am thinking to move to a new game engine but i am totally confused between unity5 and unreal engine 4(4.7),

can you guys please suggest me one, here the specifications-:

-i want to make 3d(not only fps) as well as 2d games

-i like more platforms(last gen too)

-As now both are free i don't care about the cost

-Ease of use

-graphics also matter a bit

-more learning resources

-i am a team of one

-programming language doesn't matter much(i like the bluprint system too)

i know that when i started to learn one of them i would be hard for me to change so it should help me in a long run too...

thanks,

--Gamedeveloper0--

Advertisement
Thanks orangeatang for the reply, today I installed both unty 5 and unreal engine 4 unity was about 1.2 gb to download and unreal engine was about 4 gb to download thats a big difference I will try a simple fps game by importing some of my models and will see which does it better. Both of the engines have demos of that inbuilt but I will see which is easier to myself and my only doubt us that unreal may do better in fps games and unity in 2d

I think that in the platforming case unity is ahead of unreal as unity supports last gen consoles too, and if you see the cost factor epic games (those who made unreal engine) take 5% royalty if you make over 3000$ whereas unity takes 1500$(price of unity pro) if you make 100000$ ao unity is better here, still I will look which engine ia better to use, btw which engines are you guys using?

I am a noob, so my opinion might not matter much. I have only spent a week on trying out UE4 / Unity.