Sign in to follow this  
Camfitzsmith

I am 21 years of age, with absolutely zero knowledge of Coding/Programming. HELP!

I have began the arduous task of trying to figure out how to get some traction in learning Game Development. I have fallen in love with the idea of making programs and games of my own from the ground up, my own "baby" if you will. I bought Sam's Teach Yourself C++ by Siddhartha Rao as a sort of stepping stone into it all, but as I soon found out C++ is not so complete noob friendly and I very quickly was underwater. 

After reading a few threads on gamedev.net's forums and I believe I've landed on Python as the language I would like to get started with. My main question I suppose is now what? College is not really an option, could anyone suggest an online site to begin with or perhaps even a really good textbook? Or any advice from people who have been in my shoes or anything really would be greatly appreciated.

It's possible without college... just frustratingly difficult as... a lot of details that you need to learn, isn't really easy to search for without knowing what the term actually is.

I wouldn't start with python however. It's not difficult. It's just not the best language to learn how to program a game with.

Try out Monogame, Unity, or the Unreal Engine. If you really need to go down to the basics.

I'd start off with buying a book that teaches you C. then try programming some simple terminal games. Like rogue likes, Dwarf Fortress, ect.

If you start with Python, I think there are some boards in the workshop that teaches it.

Edited by Tangletail

I wouldn't start with python however. It's not difficult. It's just not the best language to learn how to program a game with.