Sign in to follow this  
dmtuan

[HLSL] Decreasing Shader Model from SM5 to SM2 (vs_5_0 to vs_4_0_level_9_3)

Hi, 

I am not an expert on HLSL. Hope someone can help me rewrite this Shader, so it can work on Shader Model 2 (vs_4_0_level_9_3). I have an engine running on Windows 8.1 (App Store), which uses DirectX 11.2 (feature level 11_1). I am trying to rewrite this engine, so it runs on Windows Phone 8.1. In order to accomplish that, I had to decrease the DirectX feature level to 9_3, which only uses Shader Model 2 (unlike feature level 11_1, which supports Shader Model 5).

I am having difficulties to rewrite my vertex shader (originally written for vs_5_0), so that it's now for vs_4_0_level_9_3. Here are my shaders written for vs_5_0 profile:

Common.hlsl:

// Constant buffer to be updated by application per object
cbuffer PerObject : register(b0)
{
    // WorldViewProjection matrix
    float4x4 WorldViewProjection;

// We need the world matrix so that we can
    // calculate the lighting in world space
    float4x4 World;

// Inverse transpose of world, used for
    // bringing normals into world space, especially
    // necessary where non-uniform scaling has been applied
    float4x4 WorldInverseTranspose;
};

// A simple directional light (e.g. the sun)
struct DirectionalLight
{
    float4 Color;
    float3 Direction;
};

// Constant buffer - updated once per frame
// Note: HLSL data is packed in such a
// way that it does not cross a 16-byte boundary
cbuffer PerFrame: register (b1)
{
    DirectionalLight Light;
    float3 CameraPosition;
};

// Constant buffer to hold our material configuration
// Note: HLSL data is packed in such a
// way that it does not cross a 16-bytes boundary
cbuffer PerMaterial : register (b2)
{
    float4 MaterialAmbient;
    float4 MaterialDiffuse;
    float4 MaterialSpecular;
    float MaterialSpecularPower;
    bool HasTexture;
    float4 MaterialEmissive;
    float4x4 UVTransform;
};