Sign in to follow this  
Prot

How to pass DeviceContext to other classes?

Hi there,

I've been following this tutorial on how to render a texture with DirectX tool Kit. It's all clear.

In the example everything is created and executed inside the Game.cpp. I am still new to C++ so I was wondering, how would I transfer all the logic for rendering a sprite to a separate class. So I came Up with this:

#pragma once

#include "SpriteBatch.h"

class MyTexture
{
public:
	MyTexture();
	~MyTexture();

void Create();
	void OnDeviceLost();
	void Render();
private:
	Microsoft::WRL::ComPtr<ID3D11ShaderResourceView> m_texture;
	Microsoft::WRL::ComPtr<ID3D11ShaderResourceView> m_texture;
	std::unique_ptr<DirectX::SpriteBatch> m_spriteBatch;
	DirectX::SimpleMath::Vector2 m_screenPos;
	DirectX::SimpleMath::Vector2 m_origin;
	UINT backBufferWidth;
	UINT backBufferHeight;
};
#include "pch.h"
#include "Grid.h"
#include "SpriteBatch.h"

using namespace DirectX;

using Microsoft::WRL::ComPtr;
using namespace DirectX::SimpleMath;

MyTexture::MyTexture()
{
	m_screenPos.x = backBufferWidth / 2.f;
	m_screenPos.y = backBufferHeight / 2.f;
}

MyTexture::~MyTexture()
{
}

void MyTexture::Create()
{
	m_spriteBatch.reset(new SpriteBatch(m_d3dContext.Get()));

ComPtr<ID3D11Resource> resource;
	DX::ThrowIfFailed(
		CreateWICTextureFromFile(m_d3dDevice.Get(), L"cat.png", resource.GetAddressOf(),
		m_texture.ReleaseAndGetAddressOf()));

ComPtr<ID3D11Texture2D> cat;
	DX::ThrowIfFailed(resource.As(&cat));

CD3D11_TEXTURE2D_DESC catDesc;
	cat->GetDesc(&catDesc);

m_origin.x = float(catDesc.Width / 2);
	m_origin.y = float(catDesc.Height / 2);
}

void MyTexture::OnDeviceLost()
{
	m_texture.Reset();
	m_spriteBatch.reset();
}

void MyTexture::Render()
{
	m_spriteBatch->Begin();

m_spriteBatch->Draw(m_texture.Get(), m_screenPos, nullptr, Colors::White, 0.f, m_origin);

m_spriteBatch->End();
}