evaluate a game`s copyrights cost

Started by
6 comments, last by ooak 9 years ago

dear gamedev community, today I come for an advice and some insight.

when I was a teenager I started playing carom3d a billiard game, the game was good and I was addicted to it.

after some time I quit playing it, only to return now to find out the game had shutdown by the dev company because the server`s cost where too high.

A thought crossed my mind to purchase the rights for the game and re-launch it, so I reached out to who I know has the rights and they said that it is possible to negotiate for the copyrights of the game but I should of course give them a formal proposal.

So now I stand here in front of you guys to help me find out what would be a good estimste value of the copyrights, and what do you think will be the costs of re-launching the game.

p.s. : yes I have no experiance in the game industry so go ahead crush my dream and advice me.

Advertisement
Think about what you can afford, and think about how much money the game might bring in over 2 or 3 years - then don't tell the other party your number but ask the other party for his number. Then see if the two numbers are within negotiating distance, or if they're so far apart that no agreement is feasible.
But really, if you have no experience in the game industry, it's an unwise idea to enter into the swamp without a map and with no knowledge of the habits of alligators.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Usually this is effectively buying a business.

Just getting the software, code, assets, and build chain is not enough. You will need a person or two who can help you set it all up, configure machines, and bootstrap everything. Then you will likely need occasional help when things break down.

This type of transaction is often valued in the millions of dollars initially, with contracts for support at an hourly rate as needed.

Usually this is effectively buying a business.