Sign in to follow this  
Horscht

Alternatives to global variables / passing down references through deep "call-trees"?

When I started programming one of the biggest mysteries to me was how to provide access to things like SoundPlayer, Renderer, ErrorLog, StateMachine etc to very deeply "nested" objects, like the player.

Let's say I create my StateMachine in main(), inside the constructor of StateMachine I initialize it's member: GameState, which in turn initializes it's member Level which in turn initializes it's member Player.

Player wants to play a sound when he jumps, so he would need to call soundPlayer.playSound(SOUND_JUMP). But Player doesn't have a reference to a SoundPlayer object. He also wants to draw himself at the center of the screen, so he needs a reference to a Renderer and the Window, to get it's dimensions. What do?

After a lot of inconclusive articles (or failure to understand them), I decided to just use a static global class, since I wanted to generate results as fast as possible and I kinda got stuck with it.

Actually, I used a mixture of dependency injection through constructors, dependecy injection through methods and global variables...

Here is an example (not actual code):

class Player
{
    private:
        SoundPlayer& _soundPlayer;
        Sprite _sprite;
    public:
    Player(SoundPlayer& soundPlayer) :_soundPlayer(soundPlayer) {} // Dependency injection, storing the reference inside the object
    void Render()
    {
        Renderer* renderer = Renderer::GetInstance(); // Global static horrible singleton!

renderer->Render(_sprite);
    }
    void Shoot(ParticleSpawner& particleSpawner) // Dependency injection through function argument, not stored
    {
        particleSpawner.Spawn(PARTICLE_BULLET);
    }
};