Sign in to follow this  
dextercan123

Best CHEAP/FREE 2D Game Engine?

Hello everyone! I've been using Unity3D Free for making simple 3D games (all of which, I've never finished :/) for the past 6 months. At the moment, I want to try a new engine, but exclusively for 2D games, because I have a few ideas in mind.

The problem though, is that all of, what seems like the best 2D game engines, are way too expensive for me. I'm a 15 year old student. I definitely can't afford a game engine license of any kind. I want to make Android games since I will not need a Mac and iOS Developer's License (expensive as heck...) also, I already have an Android phone that I can test on. Also, a $25 lifetime license for the Google Play Store is not that big of a deal.

As of what I've seen, most engines only allow you to export to Android with an expensive license that I can't afford. I'm looking for an engine that will allow me to make good 2D games relatively easily, and can be learnt... easily. The only thing is that it must be a free license that allows me to export to Android. I don't care about royalties and stuff, because if I'm making enough money (not likely) to pay a certain percentage (say for example, after $5000, you must pay 5% of revenue) than I'm still happy. I really don't mind. The commercial license, to export to Android... just simply, must be free. not to mention, the engine itself has to be good though.

I'm not sure if I'm even making any sense, and if there even is an engine like that out there...

Thanks everyone! 

Hello everyone! I've been using Unity3D Free for making simple 3D games (all of which, I've never finished :/) for the past 6 months. At the moment, I want to try a new engine, but exclusively for 2D games, because I have a few ideas in mind.