Sign in to follow this  
Flyverse

Self-evaluating my programming skills?

Hey everyone.

Since I've lately got the feeling that I'm not really progressing much in terms of programming, I'd really like to know how I could self-evaluate my programming skills, and what I should try to progress on next. I found an interesting page "http://sijinjoseph.com/programmer-competency-matrix/" (And there are surprisingly many things I don't know much about... This is really scary, since I've been programming as a hobby for a few years now...) - But I'd like something a bit... "more" meaningful?

Also, I've read a lot about people trying to get a job and being asked some technical programming problems. It would be really awesome if you guys could ask me some of those problems and maybe even review the code I'll write up as answer =)!

Thanks in advance!

Forget matrix of skills and the like, the key with software is never stop learning!!! :)

Sounds like what you are saying is that you have hit a rut in your development, you have enough knowledge to get stuff done and use that again and again.... not a bad thing if it works for you. But there are always more than one way to skin a cat so it is probably time to learn a new language that sits within a different paradigm, it will teach you a new set of techniques and skills and let you see problems in a whole new light.

So you are in the OO space at the moment go off and learn a functional language, it is such a different mind space but worth the journey. I started that journey a couple of years back and it has transformed how I approach code, no matter the space I am working in.

I would say languages F# (ML based), Scala (Lispy), Haskell (Real head mess but worth it)

Haskell is a beautiful language that I think everyone should take a look at. I now use things like Monads and Lenses which I have taken from this language in C# etc