.NET Developer -> Video Game Developer?

Started by
9 comments, last by Paul01 8 years, 10 months ago

Hello,

I realized recently that my dream is make video games. I've been playing video games since I was 5 or 6 years old. I'm now 27 and have 3 years of experience as a C#/.NET Developer. Video games is still pretty much ALL I do. I have heard that the main video game languages are C & C++. I've done a little bit of C - I made a script in Call of Duty to modify bot behavior (accuracy, mechanics, etc). But I haven't done C++ so I know that is different...

Anyway.. I am seriously thinking of moving out to California (maybe LA or San Fran) and getting started in this industry. I haven't made a full game before - I've only made maps, mods and scripts for multiplayer games (again, like Cod). What are your recommendations for starting out? I would like to network with some video game companies and such. I'm already networking with a lot of companies looking for .NET devs and have a pretty decent Linkedin presence. At this point I'd be happy with PC game, console or mobile game development. What would be the best of those three to start out on?

Also - would you recommend that I start out with a large video game company (like Konami or Activision) or a smaller one (mobile game startup)? I'm usually better with smaller firms, but I've never actually worked with a large firm, so I might actually prefer that more...

Any general tips would be great!

EDIT: One last question. SInce I don't have c++ experience, should I be expected for the employer to request that I go to school for c++ first, or during the beginning of employment? I really hope not, since I just finished off 9 years of college with an MS-IT sad.png

Thanks,

Paul

Advertisement