• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Demiurgic_Amon

Know almost nothing about Game Development; Here to learn

This topic is 1092 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Exactly what the title says. I'm a complete noob at making games, playing games, and life, and I'm here to learn on how to improve on the former two.

My Skills: To put it bluntly, Coding and software terminology (even at it's most basic) tends to fly completely over my head. Literary concepts and devices (no matter how advanced) tend to have the opposite effect. I'm distinctly more of a storyboard guy, though I once had a very basic knowledge of the Unreal Scripting Language.

My interests/the types of games I like: RPGs all the way! It doesn't really matter whether they are Western or Japanese. In addition, I also have a bit of a soft spot for shooters that break the MW/Battlefield mold.

What I want to learn: Here, I plan on learning how to become the head of a project: how to manage budget, deal with legal aspects, etc. Generally how to bring the games I dream of to life.

Advertisement

Welcome to gamedev! 

What other skills do you have? Games aren't just coding, they need artists of all forms and musicians, writers and lots of creative types.

So long as you're creative you'll find something you can do, I suggest you find a spot you're good at if not coding, and find existing projects to contribute to as there are lots of small projects that need help.

Also there are ways to create game code without typing code as such by drag and dropping flow charts, e.g. check out unreal engine 4's blueprint scripting,  and unity's visual scripting addons.

Good luck!

I'm definitely one of those creative types (a writer to be exact). Unfortunately at this point I have no formal training in the practical aspects of writing (script and screen-writing) though.