• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
thundersteel

Xbox Controller Input in C++ and C# on Mac Os X

This topic is 1183 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I am a computer science student on holidays and I am learning C# developing a RPG in-console game in C# and C++ to see differences between them and also improve my programming skills on C++. The game uses three commands so far, attack, defend and see enemy's health using simple keyboard input (typing 1 to attack, 2 to defend and 3 to defend) but I want one more step further and I want to use the Xbox Controller Input for that, but I am stuck. I have seen the XNA framework for C# and the windows.h library for C++ but I am using a Macbook Pro and I don't know to use it.

I have installed MonoGame on Xamarin but I haven't used Xamarin. Instead I have been using TextWrangler for editing and g++ and mcs for compiling on command line. Could I use these tools somehow to compile and execute the MonoGameFramework? How I use windows.h on Mac without VMs?

Thank you very much, sorry for my English.

Advertisement

Does an xbox controller even work with a mac, I wouldnt be surprised if there wasn't a driver for it. If there is no driver and I checked there is no official one this might become hard to do. Other than that it seems you need to figure out how to use a controller/gamepad on OSX from C# or C++, I am betting there will be some stuff for controller support in the Mac OSx SDK.

windows.h library for C++ but I am using a Macbook Pro and I don't know to use it.

windows.h is a Windows thing, not a Mac thing. If you really wanted to get down-and-dirty, you'd write a user-space HID driver, but that's not what you want to do.