• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
LostTime76

Who wants to see a C replacement?

This topic is 1178 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all:

I am a software developer coming from a professional environment with quite a few years of experience in system and apps level programming. I just want to pose a question about a replacement for the C language.

I am sure there are hundreds of other topics that start the same way and there are also tons of languages that hope to displace C as the systems programming language. Believe me, I know how deep C reaches. My company uses C extensively. I am not here to actually start to implement anything, I just want to get a feel for what people think. Please spare the "This will never happen, it will be impossible to displace C" type of comments. That is not what my question is about. 

So from my standpoint it looks like there have been many attempts to create a language to replace C /C++ in the past or present. Some examples I guess are Rust, Go, D, etc.. However, it all comes back to low level ability. The thing that makes C so great for systems programming is the ability to really go down and touch the hardware in any way that you want. This is usually accomplished with pointers. Also, it is a fairly simple language in that to me, C is basically a set of functions with code inside them and that's it. There are not really classes and methods as far as the language is concerned; a C program is just a set of callable functions. Therefore it is simple.