• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
MikeDev

Dropbox + TortoiseSVN; Where is the advantage? (New to SC)

This topic is 1107 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey. I am relatively new to source-control.
I previously had a Git-Ext and Bitbucket set up for our project, however with a limit of 2Gig we needed something larger and cheaper.

I have set up TortoiseSVN using Dropbox as a repository. Now; whenever I commit or change a file it will instantly update in Dropbox.
But same thing would in theory happen if I had changed or added files directly to a dropbox, as dropbox automatically update any recent files anyway. So right now, Tortoise feels like just doing the same thing twice, to get a file in a share dropbox folder. It doesn't exactly feel logic to me at the moment.

A dropbox folder is automatically copied and stored local on your computer anyway, with a real time update.

I understand Tortoise could perhaps help revert changed files, or hold back files you don't want to update yet. But at the moment I'm not entirely sure where the true advantage lies, using Dropbox and TTSVN together.

Does anyone else use them together, and what are your experiences? 
Also do you have any advise to give a newbie to Tortoise. I've only used Perforce in the past, but hasn't been involved in its setup.
I am the only one on my team who has any (and it's very limited) experience using Source Control, so unfortunately at the moment I can't get much help from my team mates.

Cheers.

Advertisement

I just use BitBucket with Hg, so I can't comment on SVN, but I have some thoughts:

A) It's nice to be able to see diffs of two different commits. DropBox doesn't easily allow that.