• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
CaptainVG

Is it considered unprofessional for a game designer to be a fanboy?

This topic is 1148 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

My dream is to make games only for Nintendo and as a result, I'm a huge Nintendo fan. But now starting my career as a game designer, I wonder if I can still rant about bad games publicly and whether its considered unprofessional for someone being a game designer.

Advertisement

It's somewhat inappropriate to negatively "rant" publicly if you are also identifying yourself publicly as a professional in the industry. This is especially true of games or products that your own could be seen as in competition with. Well-reasoned arguments and discussion are fine, and the occasional burst of frustration on Twitter when some bug renders your game un-completable are probably forgivable, but frequently descending into histrionics and bad-mouthing is likely to be viewed unfavorably.

If you're ranting in the sense of "overjoyed adoration of same particular game," then maybe some people will raise a few eyebrows at your fervor but otherwise it shouldn't be an issue.

Edited by Josh Petrie

I wonder if I can still rant about bad games publicly and whether its considered unprofessional for someone being a game designer.

That would almost entirely depend on your content and presentation and to a smaller degree, your sense of self-preservation. The use of the word "rant" though, doesn't bode well.

Edited by Stormynature

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information

By using GameDev.net, you agree to our community Guidelines, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

We are the game development community.