4th Demension...

Started by
16 comments, last by DarkHunter 22 years, 5 months ago
Umm, ok i am pretty new to openGL, but not that new. I am going to write a program for my math class, showing a cube rotating in the 4th demension. If you can see this, its 2 cubes, one bigger then the other, and the inside one is getting bigger, and the outside one is getting smaller, then it goes back and forth like that. I know rotation, but making them boxes is just alittle problum... maybe its just me, and im dumb, but how do i draw like a BOX!!! and second, how would i get these 2 boxes to invert like how i described?!! Please help! slim475@hotmail.com is my email, if you wanna help. I wil check the board in a few days. Peace
Advertisement
one more thing, when i said draw a box, i ment like lines, not like a side. i can easily open .bmp pictures, but i wanted just the lines. O ya, and i need the boxes to be connected by skew vertex (or parallel, if you like that name better)

i hope you can understand
head over to NeHe''s Tutorials. They''ll get you on the right track.

Scott

------------------------------------------------------------
Email
Website

"If you try and don''t succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried."
------------------------------------------------------------
quote:Original post by DarkHunter
...showing a cube rotating in the 4th demension.

Just thought you might like to know that the proper mathematical name for what you describe is tesseract or hypercube (it is to a [3D] cube as a cube is to a square; there are also actually 8 cubes involved. There is an open source OpenGL-based screensaver that implements this for Linux. You could take a look at the sources to see how it was implemented; it''s by Jamie Zawinski, for the xscreensaver framework. (There''s screenshots on the site)

I wanna work for Microsoft!