A request for advice

Started by
12 comments, last by Ovicior 8 years, 8 months ago

Hi,

I'm a student currently learning web development and design. I have learned a bit of JavaScript, HTML5, Flash and next semester i will be taking a look at PHP and Sql.

However my passion has always been videogames and I have decided to learn how to build one.

I have read the FAQ for beginners on this site and it anwsered most of my questions but i would like to get some advice from experienced developers if possible.

My goal is to create a 2D turn based RPG similar (and inspired by) http://armorgames.com/play/505/sonny.

I do not expect my first creation to be anything worth uploading but simply something that works and allowes me to learn more about programming/design/development along the way.

1st Question: Do i use Flash and Javascript for my first creation or go straight for Unity and C# ?

This questions stems from my teacher saying Flash is basically dead.

2nd Question: What platform do i aim for ? do i go for the mobile devices such as android or do i go for my initial choice which is pc (and eventually make a game enjoyable enough to upload to kongregate/newgrounds/armorgames to get feedback).

3d Question: Do you have any advice you could give to a greenhorn who has never actually made a game? are my expectations unrealistic? should i focus on the programming languages first instead of trying to do both?

The community on this site seemed like the right people to ask smile.png in the meantime i will be looking for more information myself.

I'm aware that i could probably find the anwsers to my questions if i dig deep enough i'm just hoping this thread doesn't get closed bc it remindes you of how you started tongue.png

ty in advance

Advertisement

If this is just for an learning experience and you do not plan to release then go whatever route you feel like and just have fun with getting lost in code :)