Sign in to follow this  

Unity Creating my own android games, where do I start?

This topic is 829 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello! I'm new here. I have been interested in creating my own android games for a time now and just decided to give it a try, so I'm looking for a software where I can develop my games.

I have some basic knowledge in java and been playing around a bit in Android Studio. What would be the easiest way for a beginner to create his first android game? At the start, now when I'm new to app development, I will make simple games like memory match or quiz game, and after that try creating games that require some physics, like a "runner game" or platform game.

I have found three options:
-Android Studio
-Unity3d
-Game Maker: studio

Does any of you have any idea what software to use? Are any of these three options any good? I have also heard it might be possible to use Android Studio as a plugin for Unity3d or something like that... I just want to create simple 2D-games, not any advanced 3D-games. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

For Android Studio, start here, the guide includes downloading and setting up the environment and building a simple program.

For Unity, you need to download the system, install it, and go through several of the tutorials, whatever topic you want to learn.

Android Studio requires more work on your behalf since you are building most of the code yourself.  You either need to build all the libraries yourself or use other third-party libraries for everything.

Unity starts with a full-featured engine that can look pretty out of the box, you need to add the logic behind the objects.

For Android Studio, start here, the guide includes downloading and setting up the environment and building a simple program.