Sign in to follow this  

A Beginners DFS Maze Problem

This topic is 827 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

I have been using this site www.migapro.com/depth-first-search/ to learn about how to do mazes

I have got it setup and it works ok but I have a problem. Sometimes when the map is created it doesn't find every possible path to create a maze.

I have been able to work out a formula based on the size of the maze to determine how many grid tiles should be used to make the map, and if that size is not correct, then redo the map.

I'd like not to have to redo the whole map, or understand why it fails to fill all possible grid positions.

I'm still a beginner and am starting to understand how the recursion works. If you could have a look over my code and point out what I should be looking at to find the error. It only happens like 1 in 10 times. I think it is in the direction it randomly chooses to travel in....( in this case it didn't go "up" at all.

Here is a picture of one of the bad maps.

[attachment=29068:badmaze.jpg]

and here is the code:

GenerateMaze::GenerateMaze(int mazex, int mazey)
{
	numberofcells = mazesize*mazesize;
	mazesizex = mazex;
	mazesizey = mazey;
	Directiontotravel.push_back(Direction::Up);
	Directiontotravel.push_back(Direction::Down);
	Directiontotravel.push_back(Direction::Left);
	Directiontotravel.push_back(Direction::Right);

}
bool GenerateMaze::GenerateNewMaze(int mazearray[], int mazexsize, int mazeysize)
{
	system("CLS");
	// maze maker magic
	// use recursion rather than a stack.
	ClearMaze(mazearray);
	int startpoint = mazesize+1; 
	Visited[startpoint] = true;
	mazearray[startpoint] = 1;

int xposcell = startpoint % mazesizex; // x pos in tiles
	int yposcell = startpoint / mazesizey; // y pos in tiles
	// reduce number of cells by 1 for starting location aswell
	numberofcells--;