Sign in to follow this  

[physx3.3.0] doing a chain of interlocked capsules

This topic is 816 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello there, new to gamedev forum. I am a C++ newbie and PhysX virgin. I hope I won't waste people time...

That being said. I managed to do a script to generate a scene with a loop to generate a series of neatly aligned capsules. 

I would like to do something similar to this (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyjE5L4-1lQ).

Capsules are being used for that. The n+1 capsule does not collide with the n capsule if n+1 because the collision filter is set to ignore objects collisions if objects are joined.

I would like to reproduce this kind of collision filtering in PhysX, to tell physx not to detect collisions between objects that are joined together.

I tried looking into official Physx documentation, but there is nothing about this specific case. 

Has anybody tried this could it be done at all?

//create custom filter
PxFilterFlags customFilterShader(PxFilterObjectAttributes attributes0, PxFilterData filterData0, 
										PxFilterObjectAttributes attributes1, PxFilterData filterData1,
										PxPairFlags& pairFlags, const void* constantBlock, PxU32 constantBlockSize)
{
	// all initial and persisting reports for everything, with per-point data
	pairFlags = PxPairFlag::eCONTACT_DEFAULT | PxPairFlag::eTRIGGER_DEFAULT | PxPairFlag::eNOTIFY_CONTACT_POINTS | PxPairFlag::eCCD_LINEAR; //Set flag to enable CCD (Continuous Collision Detection) 

return PxFilterFlag::eDEFAULT;
	//more ugly test code
    if(PxFilterObjectIsTrigger(attributes0) || PxFilterObjectIsTrigger(attributes1)) // <---- this is where you define the custom attribute if I understand...
    {
            pairFlags = PxPairFlag::eTRIGGER_DEFAULT;
    }
	//end more ugly test code
}
//end of custom filter