Sign in to follow this  

Visual Studio 2015 C++ Unit Testing.

This topic is 707 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, can anyone recommend a good book/tutorial that covers Unit Testing C++ code in Visual Studio 2015?

I've tried reading the online documentation for it, and whilst it appears very simple and straight forward, on the surface, I suspect there is more to it then initially meets the eye, and am finding said documentation somewhat impenetrable.

I am an experienced C++ programmer that has been out of work for some time (around 10 years or so) due to ill health and am looking to get back into dabbling in 3D Graphics and Game programming to keep my skills sharpened. But I last touched any code or Visual Studio about 5 years ago though, so things have changed!

Thanks in advance.

Scott Hill.

That's a pretty broad area.

Are you looking more for articles about how to write unit tests, what goes in them, and how they work?

Or are you looking more for articles about VS2015's test runners, using the environment, and working with results?

More information on how to write C++ Unit Tests using the features built in to VS2015.

Although you could use the Microsoft Unit Testing Framework, I would recommend against choosing that route, as it would bind you to one vendor and make your unit tests unusable on other platforms. You don't even gain anything like IntelliTest for partially automated test generation, as that is for .NET only.

I would rather have a look at other, cross platform unit testing frameworks such as:

1. Google Test
  2. Boost.Test
  3. Catch

There are plenty others. Out of the previous list, you might like catch as it is only a single header, so no headaches with building a medium or large library first.

More information on how to write C++ Unit Tests using the features built in to VS2015.