Sign in to follow this  

Best language for solving diamond problem & is this a good idea for multiple inheritance?

This topic is 815 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

This is my first time in these vast forums, and I've come today to ask you if you know of a programming language that has a good solution for the diamond problem unlike C++'s workarounds of virtual inheritance, using :: to specify which super-class to get the implementation from etc.

I also wanted to share my (probably naive and) basic solution for multiple occurrences from multiple super-classes of the same method named implementation in a class, which is to call both implementations in alphabetical order of the super-classes' names. I have a very strong feeling that there could be many problems linked to this form of behavior for classes, yet I fail to see them. I seek criticism on this solution, and if no faults apply to this behavior please do approve.

Kind Regards,
Kreative

I suspect most people here will suggest trying composition instead of using inheritance at all. It's easier to get what you want, and you don't have to fight with the language.

QFE.

Most cases where people encounter the diamond problem, in my experience, are cases where composition was more likely to be the appropriate choice. Edited by Washu

It sounds like you aim for a language-theoretic discussion. A gamedev forum is probably not the optimal place for that. You may also want to try a forum or mailing list about programming language theory.