How to make game like To The Moon?

Started by
3 comments, last by Elegarth 8 years, 6 months ago

Ok so I am just getting into game development. And by that I mean I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. I've done a little bit of coding on Code Academy but nothing serious.

Now to get into my plan. I want to make a 2D story-based game with graphics similar to To The Moon or Pokemon, I haven't decided yet. But I want the focus of the game to be the story and your choices shape your game (personalized experiences). So think of a text adventure game but with graphics. And maybe some simple combat, unsure if I want that yet tho.

My problem? No idea where to start. I have done tons of research but there is so much on the internet I don't know what to do. So basically I need a way to learn and create at the same time. I would love some advice bc there is so much I WANT to create but I lack the skills to do it. Thank you in advance!

PS also need help on language to use. I hear C# is a good way to go for games...but Python is good for beginners...

Advertisement

I want to make a 2D story-based game with graphics similar to To The Moon or Pokemon, I haven't decided yet.

I think To the Moon was done with RPGmakerVXACE.

But I want the focus of the game to be the story and your choices shape your game (personalized experiences).

Depending on what you mean this, it might be really difficult to never done before... ie not for beginners.

My problem? No idea where to start.

C++ or C# for a programming language. SFML, Allegro, or Clanlib as a framework. Start simple like pong or break out, maybe a text game first. Work up from there.

-potential energy is easily made kinetic-

I hear C# is a good way to go for games...but Python is good for beginners...

Python is also good for smaller games, and while beginner-friendly, it isn't something you'll discard, but you'll continue to use it for years, even after learning other languages.