Optimization in Javascript

Started by
4 comments, last by Ey-Lord 8 years, 6 months ago

Hello,

I'm currently building a little rpg simulation game in JS mostly. I'm at a point where I'm trying to speed-up my existing code as much as possible.

Why ? Because I'm working on my AI and it does requiere me to be able to compute as many operation in a short time frame as I can. The more the better.

I'm still an order of magnitude slower than what I'd like at this point on my project :/

I've profiled my code over and over (on IE, chrome, FF(firebug) ) and tried to optimized the most called/time consuming part on my code.

I've started with themost common technique I learned (I'm no JS expert^^):

- cache length of my loops (other loop otpimization such a reverse order, remplacing by do/while ect, gave me mixed result)

- changed if/elses to switch when appropriate and to Hash structure for larger tests

- reduce scope traversal (ex: create a local reference to something like MyObject.MyPropertie.ArrayOfItems if its gonna be used more than 2 times)

- reduced all DOM manipulation to a strict minimum (so far, that part seems ok)

I then started to "cache" everything I could to avoid re-computing things for nothing. It gave decent results overall but I'm running out of meaningfull things to cache.

I also took a good look at my code logic overall and optimized all I could think of to reduce the computation made and improve the general flow of my code.

The last thing I came upon is inlining functions. It gave me a huge boost at the expense of code readability / maintainability. I cannot really use that anymore without having a code that will be too dirty to work on later on :/

i'm probably forgetting a few other optimization tricks i've done or tried.