Sign in to follow this  
NadimKing

Unity Unreal Engine & Unity (C++ & C#) - Beginner Question

NadimKing    104

[I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong section]

So I'm currently stuck in a pickle and need your opinions and help regarding my problem. I've recently gotten interested in game development (PC GAMES) and really want to be able to create my own small games, whether they're 2D platformers or FPS it doesn't matter to me. The idea of making games amazes me smile.png

I have no prior knowledge of any programming languages, but have gotten back into reading a C++ book I bought a while back (So far learnt about Dynamic memory allocation & pointers, references etc).

Now, to get to the main issue/dilemma I'm faced with. Although I haven't finished reading the C++ book, and this would be the first programming language I know, I downloaded Unreal Engine (Latest version ofc) to get a feel of it and see if I can do something small w/ it. As I looked at tutorials online, using this engine just seemed so daunting and difficult for me (Too many things going on).

Due to this, I looked at Unity which seems to be less hectic and complicated, and it seems that it would be a lot easier. The problem here is that Unity uses C#(Which I dont know), and I believe Javascript(?) in the coding parts, and not C++. SO, I want to know what you guys would recommend I do:

A) Drop C++ and learn C# (So that I can use Unity)

B) Continue/finish learning C++ then learn C#

C) Use 'insert engine here' instead as it's very easy for beginners

D) Other

Edited by NadimKing

Scouting Ninja    3976

Unreal is made to be used by teams of developers, modified to allow Indie developers the ability to make there own game.

It's daunting to learn when you are new to game development, however if you succeed the knowledge you will learn, will be invaluable.