Sign in to follow this  
Montaron

Best engine for my project.

Montaron    101

Hi.

I wan't to create a game like the old DESERT STRIKE SERIES (see youtube)

The question is, I'm no programmer, and no coder.

Yes I know it can sound strange but due to the ease of everything that is allowing ordinary people to create nowadays I would like to know if there is a engine with basically everything already done, like models, animations AI, and all.

I know good engines that would be perfect for my purspose like GEM2 by DMS company, but I don't think they sell licenses. Their games already have almost all models, animations and AI I want.

So this is more a curiosity question than a real proposal.

Is there such a thing on the market? Maybe a game about modern combat that sells licenses for using the engine and stuff from it.

Repeating, Im no coder, I just have a lot of time and willing to do.

Edited by Montaron

j_uk_dev    906

Desert Strike series are lot of games, but I believe you mean very first ones with isometric/top down view. It so happens, I have built prototype of such game in Unity once. It took just few days, later I got bit bored (and it was my attempt to "befriend" with Unity, but failed). Anyway, if you want to use thirdparty tech, I find Unity the right one for the job. Below there's screen what I've done, nothing fancy, as I say - it was just a prototype to make a helicopter motion working, add proper aiming system and few other things.

rqytjs.jpg

2uqcb2u.jpg

So yeah, Unity will be just fine to remake ( or reimagine ;) ) Desert Strike :)

Alundra    2316
For most other bigger engines programming is a must

Unreal allows to make full game without one line of c++ using blueprints, I did multiple games like that, it's good for little games.

Edited by Alundra

Brain    18906

For most other bigger engines programming is a must