Newbie looking for a high level explination of the systems that make up a modern 3d video game

Started by
3 comments, last by EddieV223 8 years, 5 months ago

I am a DBA/Analyst by trade and I work within the Property Management industry. Within this industry there are terms/phrases that have very different meanings outside of Property Management and so when seeking answers via search engines to questions specific to that industry it’s important to know/understand the jargon used in that industry else you may find too little or (just as worse) too much. For example within the development world the term property or properties has a very different meaning than it does within my industry. It is these differences between domains that makes it difficult for someone to seek answers to questions that are outside the domain they know.

Knowing how to ask the question is as important (and sometimes as difficult) as knowing what to ask. As a newbie to game development it’s difficult to know how to ask as well as what to ask so my first question or search for assistance in how to find the answers is…